Thread: New wooden boat owner with some questions

Default New wooden boat owner with some questions

Hello! Iím excited to join this forum since I am new to wooden boats and have a lot of learning to do. This seems like go-to place judging by my google searches.

Iím planning to have my boat moored year round, but I havenít done this before (with any boat). Iíve always used a trailer. It looks like keeping a wooden boat in the water is the best thing for it. Iíve read many threads here that the only thing up for debate is whether to take it out for the winter or not. Going off the picture of my boat, do you guys see any potential issues for doing this?

Ive been looking for a cover I can use when Iím not using the boat. The problem is all of the covers I see attach to a trailer. Is a custom made cover the only option? My boat is 18 ft long.

Lastly, do you have any advice for someone who will be mooring a wooden boat for most of the year for the first time?

Thanks!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: New wooden boat owner with some questions

hi dutch
    Simpler is better, except when complicated looks really cool.

Let me be the first to say Welcome.

Let me also be the first to say careful about posting pretty boats and legitimate boating questions down he you here

The topsides ( other sections of the forum ) will give you some expert advice.

But if you got the gronicals to hang in the bilge then Welcome again
    This post is temporary and my disappear at the discretion of the managment

Quote Originally Posted by Paul Pless View Post
    hi dutch
    I was thinking that but I figured I would let it ride out
    This post is temporary and my disappear at the discretion of the managment

Can a moderator move this to the appropriate sub-forum? I looked at all of them and wasn’t sure. I figured this one was the “general forum”. Thank you.

Welcome to the forum & cool boat!