Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Looking for cordless chainsaw advice

Default Looking for cordless chainsaw advice

As a preface let me say that, being a city boy, I have no experience with chainsaws at all. But occasionally I run into a job where it would be useful to have one. So far I have always managed to make do with a sawzall in those cases but we recently had a large-ish (40í+) tree taken down in front of our house. They ground the stump but left some sizeable roots that I need to remove. So Iím thinking about chainsaws. Since I donít need one very often, and then only for light duty, Iím considering a cordless saw. Specifically the DeWalt 60v saw, as all of my other cordless tools are DeWalt.

Any advice from those with more experience here? Will the DeWalt deal with an 8Ē tree root? Will it be useful for anything else? Iím not likely to be cutting a cord of firewood, trimming a tree or shaping the deadwood on a new schooner build anytime soon so it might just hang on the wall. But perhaps I just donít know enough about what one can use it for?
    - Chris

Life is short. Go boating now!

Default Re: Looking for cordless chainsaw advice

If you're cutting roots, I'd be inclined to just rent one for a weekend...unless you really want one around. My neighbor has a Stihl that works great. He claims the battery lasts as long as he does before they both need a recharge. And in actuality, your Sawzall will probably handle the 8" root if you pick up one of the 14" limbing blades they make for 'em. Just go slow and clear the teeth often.

Thanks Hugh. Both of those options seem reasonable so perhaps I don’t need this particular tool.
    - Chris

Cutting roots that are still in the ground? The dirt will dull the chain in a minute, destroy it in 5-10. I'm afraid the traditional method is still best - dig it out & use an axe.

Maybe I'm misunderstanding what you are doing?
    "If it ain't broke, you're not trying." - Red Green