Thread: Sail Cover Patterns?

Default Sail Cover Patterns?

Hello,
    I'm interested in making sail covers for a gaff-rigged Herreshoff 12 1/2.
    I'm new to sewing but I think I could manage this. I'm wondering if anyone here is familiar with a source of patterns for the covers?
    The ones in this photo look great- I'd like to be able to replicate them.
    Thanks!Screen Shot 2021-04-12 at 9.48.18 AM.jpg

South Puget Sound/summer Eastern carib./winter

Default Re: Sail Cover Patterns?

sew custom covers ?
    Just lay a piece o sunbrella on there, cut slots for the bridle, tuck it in .
    I know I know, too simple. does not compute.

I think Marino's book "The Sailmaker's Apprentice" talks about fitting sail covers if you want to start from scratch. And it's a fun book to have on the shelf

I bought that book from sailrite a few years ago. Have made lots of covers now. I'm very happy with them. You'll want to change the shape slightly for the gaff rig, but the methods for measuring and construction will be the same.

I'm doubtful that you will be able to find patterns for your boat.

On the upside, learning to make your own and then building the sailcovers from them has the potential to be quite rewarding. It may also be a very frustrating project for someone who is new to sewing. The covers you pictured are well fitted, whoever made them knew what they were doing (though it could be argued they are too tight, trapping moisture under the covers...but that is a slightly different topic) definitely not a first foray into canvaswork.

There are any number of books on DIY nautical sewing projects, Sailmakers Apprentice is good but assumes a fairly high level of sewing ability to start. Sailrite has a lot of videos available for free on their website, a good way to pass a rainy afternoon and get a sense of what is involved. There are others, poke around your local used book seller and see what style of instruction works for you.