Thread: Varnishing a snipe hull

Default Varnishing a snipe hull

Hello everyone, this is my first post although I've been lurking around for some time now.

I just "borrowed" a wooden snipe from a friend who wasn't sailing it so I convinced him to bring the boat here to Vigo, where we are starting a small classic snipe fleet.

The boat was originally painted white but my friend sanded it and now is basically bare plywood, although he did put some sealant or something on it.

What would some of the experts here recommend to varnish it properly? She'll be drysailed, but maybe in the future could spend some time on a mooring.

This a picture of the boat:

IMG-20210131-WA0008.jpg IMG-20190921-WA0007.jpg

Thanks for your help

Default Re: Varnishing a snipe hull

It's always good to see a snipe owner checking in! I have two. Both my hulls are painted, but one has a varnished deck. I just used a good grade of marine varnish, and put down multiple coats. I'm no expert, but before painting my hulls I sanded them down to bare wood and brushed on as much penetrating epoxy as the wood would hold. Good luck and welcome.

IMG_3059.jpgIMG_4241.jpg
    The first pic is after applying penetrating epoxy.

Jim

I'd do the same. Slather on CPES until it just wont take any more. Let it cure, sand lightly, paint on another coat and hot coat with varnish of your choice. I'm a big fan of Epifanes.

I have found the Jamestown CPES to work real well since I cant get Smith's any more. I thin it with denatured alcohol.

Thanks a lot for your help! The owner tells me he put a few coatings of some nano technology waterproof product, I'm waiting for him to send me a picture of it, so I'll see if I can apply varnish over it.

Cheers

OK, I'm still stuck at the same point...

How about just using epoxy on the hull and then some 2 part polyurethane below the waterline (probably white) and some UV resistant varnish on the sides?

Mind you the boat's plywood made, not wood.