Thread: sharpening a drawknife

Default sharpening a drawknife

Hi, just wondering if anyone has any tips or instructions for sharpening a drawknife.

I was told once to just clamp it in a vice and file the edge back and forth with a metal file. Which gets me okay results, but now that I think of it it was a timber frame carpenter who taught me that, so maybe I'm losing out on a degree of precision when I'm eg. carving a paddle.

I was shaping a kayak paddle the last couple days, which got me wondering. I always enjoy doing paddles.

Default Re: sharpening a drawknife

If you can file it is not much of a drawknife, and will never be "sharp"

The venerable Bob Smalser posted some good info here, here, and here on our forum some years back.

Derek Cohen in Perth posted his method here, a combination of stones, a grinder jig, and more stones.

And if you want to spend a few bucks, Benchcrafted has the fancy Drawsharp, though I have no experience with it.

This is what I use.
    Drawknife 2.jpgSrawknife 1.jpg
    It clamps in the leg vice, and the blade is clamped into to the recess with two G cramps.
    That presents the bevel up and level so that a sharp stone or diamond plate can go to work held in reasonable safety in both hands.
    It really is quite difficult to build an ugly wooden boat.

The power of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web
    The weakness of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web.

I think of a draw knife as a roughing out tool. Once its getting close, switch to a spoke shave.
    There's the plan, then there's what actually happens.

Ben Sebens, RN

15' Welsford Navigator Inconceivable
    16' W. Simmons Mattinicus double ender ​Matty

Quote Originally Posted by BBSebens View Post
    I think of a draw knife as a roughing out tool. Once its getting close, switch to a spoke shave.
    You need to practice more.

My thought too, a tad more practice....