Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Transformer noise

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,797

    Default Transformer noise

    Good morning,

    Iím digging around (again) to try to decide whether to run direct burial cable to supply my cabin electric or go with solar.

    I took better measurements and it looks to be about 800-1000 feet from the pole to the structure depending on whether we trench a straight line.

    The cost of wire (either alu or copper) for this run is pretty stout.

    Iím finding that Iím going to need to commit to 100 amps. Would like 200 but the price is off the charts. So will stick with brazing but no welding.

    One option to reduce wire size/cost (a lot) is to have step up and step down transformers.

    My big concern is the noise. Nothing like the 24/7 buzz of a transformer to make the place feel like home.

    The quiet is a big enough issue for me to swing the decision one way or the other.

    My transformer experience is old and outdated and technology may have solved the issue. Do they make quiet units now?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Glass Va. on the Severn River (Guinea)
    Posts
    1,124

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    Go ahead and spring for the cost of the wire to run 200 amps.

    It'll only hurt once when you pay the bill, but in the future you will be glad that you have plenty of electrical capacity available. Even if you don't use it.

    And if you ever go to sell the place, prospective buyers won't be put off by a minuscule electrical service.
    Even a fish wouldnít get in trouble if it kept it's mouth shut.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Valley of the Sun
    Posts
    109,115

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    do the right thing to make it quiet

    if you really want to weld out there use an engine driven welder
    Simpler is better, except when complicated looks really cool.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    4,118

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    Sounds like a good question for your local utility provider.
    \"A little too tall, coulda used a few pounds...\"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,797

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    I've got a distribution wire, a pole, and a transformer, and an ID plate up by the road. It's not in the computer system so it doesn't exist.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hills of Vermont, USA
    Posts
    39,256

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    I ran 100 amp service underground to my old place about 900 ft. It took 350MCM & had max 5% voltage drop. The power company won't run that (mine requires max 2% drop), but what's on your side of the meter is your business.

    IMHO, unless you are running a commercial shop, 100 amp is a lot. Heck, in the 50's & 60's most homes were 40 or 60 amp. My current (no pun intended - well maybe ) house has 200 amp & according to the power company, the max load over the last 2 years was 48.

    Not including conduit (easiest to pick up @ a local big box) 350-350-4/0 is about $3.50 per foot from Nassau cable: https://www.nassaunationalcable.com/products/350-triplex-urd?_pos=1&_sid=734384ec5&_ss=r

    "If it ain't broke, you're not trying." - Red Green

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,797

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    Thanks Garret. That’s what I was thinking. It’s roughly 1000 sq ft. AC will be my biggest load.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2000
    Location
    Douglasville, Ga
    Posts
    6,931

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    Welders typically need 50 amp outlet and thatís a decent size one. It wonít use that much for most welding. As long as you arenít running other loads at the same time you will be fun. I run a 100 amp sub panel for a bunch of my stuff, (oven, welder, a couple saws, compressor...) and never an issue.
    Tom

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    6,797

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    27 amps for an LG multi split (48,000 btu) with a min 40 amp breaker. Propane for cooking. Wood for heat.

    I wouldn’t mind a smaller, backup solar setup for electric hot water, a big ceiling fan, charging various electronics,

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    4,118

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    Quote Originally Posted by bluedog225 View Post
    I've got a distribution wire, a pole, and a transformer, and an ID plate up by the road. It's not in the computer system so it doesn't exist.
    God bless Texas.
    \"A little too tall, coulda used a few pounds...\"

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Hills of Vermont, USA
    Posts
    39,256

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    Quote Originally Posted by Beowolf View Post
    God bless Texas.
    It ain't just TX. About 15 years ago I participated a cell tower audit for AT&T - checking to see what their battery backup systems were. I was one of 5 or 6 people who covered New England. In Maine I found that a tower they had on their books did not exist & found 2 (one at the Nantucket Airport!) that they did not have on the books.

    A 100 ft tall, $300K cell tower is not something one would think could be misplaced...
    "If it ain't broke, you're not trying." - Red Green

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    37,772

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    Quote Originally Posted by Paul Pless View Post
    do the right thing to make it quiet

    if you really want to weld out there use an engine driven welder
    There's a Hobart Champion on C-list right now for $650.

    You won't be building a pipeline with it but . . .

    Quote Originally Posted by bluedog225 View Post
    I've got a distribution wire, a pole, and a transformer, and an ID plate up by the road. It's not in the computer system so it doesn't exist.
    Start drawing power off that bad boy, and they'll figure it out.
    Rattling the teacups.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Fredericton, New Brunswick
    Posts
    45,393

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    I thought this was a thread about Megan Fox' lingering impact on a movie franchise.
    If I use the word "God," I sure don't mean an old man in the sky who just loves the occasional goat sacrifice. - Anne Lamott

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Central Coast, Ca
    Posts
    30,673

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    100 amps is plenty for a welder, just use large enough wire to avoid voltage drop on that long run.
    That is likely to give you more fits than amperage.

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Apr 2000
    Location
    Southampton Ont. Canada
    Posts
    7,013

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    The price of two transformers and the other required parts will likely sting more than the bigger wire.
    Snakes like them because they are warm all the time.
    R
    Sleep with one eye open.

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2000
    Posts
    4,118

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    Quote Originally Posted by Garret View Post
    It ain't just TX. About 15 years ago I participated a cell tower audit for AT&T - checking to see what their battery backup systems were. I was one of 5 or 6 people who covered New England. In Maine I found that a tower they had on their books did not exist & found 2 (one at the Nantucket Airport!) that they did not have on the books.

    A 100 ft tall, $300K cell tower is not something one would think could be misplaced...
    Yeah... I shouldnít be so hard on Texas.

    My sister just completed some contract work for Charter Cable, tracking down ďmisplaced assetsĒ all across the Midwest.
    \"A little too tall, coulda used a few pounds...\"

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2000
    Location
    Portland, Maine
    Posts
    21,075

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    If you put in a solar system you won’t be paying the power company every month forever. With what we hear of Texas’s power grid operators I’d hate giving them the couple of hundred bucks every month.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Viroqua, Wisconsin
    Posts
    399

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Indian Land, SC, USA
    Posts
    3,294

    Default Re: Transformer noise

    Quote Originally Posted by Beowolf View Post
    Yeah... I shouldn’t be so hard on Texas.

    My sister just completed some contract work for Charter Cable, tracking down “misplaced assets” all across the Midwest.
    When I was doing computer repair for a large company, I visited a client who had 3 systems in the computer room - each 35 feet of racks full of I/O and disk units. 2 were under contract ($1M per year each) , one was not - the customer was glad to sign to cover the 3rd one - they never were able to discover why it had never been covered before.



    Rick

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •