Thread: how to remove bad epoxy

Default how to remove bad epoxy

I messed up the ratio on a batch of epoxy I put on my boat. I've removed most of it with a scraper. Now, however, it is still a bit tacky. I was going to scrub it a bit with a scotch bright pad and soap and water to finish removing it before I redo it.

I assume I need to get it off of there thoroughly before puting more on. Please advise.

Default Re: how to remove bad epoxy

I've had good luck using xylene to wipe off uncured epoxy from a relatively small area (rudder blade). Wear gloves and have plenty of fresh air ventilation. don't get it on paint or varnish.

Chris

Merthylene chloride will remove all of it, just be careful it is a harsh chemical.

HWS

I'm no expert on this -- what does the manufacturer's data sheet say?

You may want to try MEK first, as I think it is rated a bit safer than the above chemical compound. For any of these solvents, be sure to allow enough time (and correct temps) to let all of it get out of the porous wood surface before recoating with epoxy.
    "The enemies of reason have a certain blind look."
    Doctor Jacquin to Lieutenant D'Hubert, in Ridley Scott's first major film _The Duellists_.

Denatured alcohol may work and be less caustic. It doesn't hurt to have it on hand for cleaning tools and such anyway. It also has other uses such as a great stain remover from fabrics and carpeting.

The headwaters of the Petaluma River and up a hill. ,CA

I doubt very much that a Scotch Pad and soapy water will do much more than make it more troublesome than it already sounds mate.

Well, I tried acetone and laquer thinner with scotch bright. I think the chemicals are helping to soften it a bit more, but I'm still just having to scrape it off. One step forward, two steps back. That's my building method.