Thread: Design for a small motor boat?

Default Design for a small motor boat?

I am fairly new to wooden boats in general and am looking for a design for a smaller motor dinghy or skiff. Should have an inboard motor, be at around 14-17 feet, lapstrake design.

When researching on the web I was inspired by designs Hvalsoe 16 rowboat
    http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2157/...ed53bf102d.jpg
    http://erichvalsoe.googlepages.com/13and16

Any ideas on combining the aesthetics of the Hvalsoe with an inboard motor?

Default Re: Design for a small motor boat?

You looking to build, or buy? Say some more. Are you hoping to row this boat with relative ease? There are a lot of good little, lightly-powered, skiffs out there. A favorite of mine, though it couldn't be construed as a row boat, is the mid to late fifties Lyman Islander. It grew a bit, from 17 to 18. A similar form, but not lapstrake, is some of Harry Bryan's skiffs, if you want a more modern iteration.

The Lymans, I can attest to this because I did a bit of work on them, were very nice creations. A four cylinder gas Gray, which pushed the bote onto a plane with just enough power to make it work efficiently. It got going maybe seventeen knots. Yet just at the balance so it was fairly stingy with gas. Incredible materials. Old growth fir ply over white oak frames. Small dex fore and aft of good mahogany ply. I've sung their virtues before.
    So many questions, so little time.

I was just looking at this website (again) yesterday...

http://www.batritningar.se/default.a...Page=Boatplans

Look under "Motorsnipa" (above)
    and
    Belkingseka
    Last edited by Greg P H; 12-02-2008 at 12:59 PM.
    We think we are living on a planet that is floating around the sun. It isn't true, there is no planet and there is no sun. There isn't anything, it's just pure consciousness and nothing more.