Thread: advice on mirror dinghy repair

Default advice on mirror dinghy repair

I am very new to this, and would very much appreciate advice.

I am the proud owner of a 1970's wooden mirror dinghy, my first boat and I have a little work to do though before I can take it out sailing however. First stage has to be to strip and revarnish all the inside surfaces, as the boat has been allowed to fill with water, and the ply is a little damp. No immediate sign of rot though. I was intending to use West Epoxy and then varnish over.

Some of the tapes have come completely off, so I need to replace these, and there are some tapes in the process of coming away. I was thinking to use epoxy/filler mix and stick these down, maybe taping over with wider fibreglass tape just to make sure...

Suggestions for suitable varnish over epoxy much appreciated. (I am in the UK...) I would like it to last as long as possible, so I want to do the best job.

There is a hole in the bow, on the deck line, where the wood section holding the painter metal fixing has come away, splintered edges, about 6cm diameter round max.

Do I cut out a section of the ply (which would allow me access to the front bouyancy compartment to check for rot/damp and to dry and seal if necessary) and replace it, fixing using epoxy/tape, or should I use epoxy mixed with filler to fill the gap? The forestay is attached to the other side of the ply where the painter wood goes... So it seems like this is a stressed area. Husband was thinking to add all sorts of extra bits of wood for strengthening, but I am not sure.

How thick should this ply be?

Ideas and comments welcomed...

ta.

Default Re: advice on mirror dinghy repair

Ahh, something on which I have some experience (Mirror 16) - a long story, but suffice it to say that my father and sister conspired to blow a significant portion of her bottom out...