Thread: question re: AC Exterior vs AC plywood

Default question re: AC Exterior vs AC plywood

All -
    I am building my first boat; a Diablo by Dynamite Payson and had a quesiton.
    Plans call for AC Exterior plywood or Marine Grade. I plan on using AC exterior, but the lumberyard closest to me tell me that AC plywood is the same as AC Exterior. Is this true? I am not very experienced with woodworking but I see differing info when I "google" for more info, and figure I would ask the experts.

thanks for any assistance -

Default Re: question re: AC Exterior vs AC plywood

You can get "interior" or "exterior" plywood. As long as your lumberyard is giving you A/C plywood that is "exterior" rated, it's the same.
    Happiness is worth waiting for!

I'd be very surprised if the lumberyard carries only ACX plywood. It would be much more likely that they'd have CDX and interior AC plywood.... Slightly off subject but, ABX is available and is much nicer to work with than ACX.

If you really want this boat to last, I would suggest you spend the extra money and use marine ply. Because you don't want the following to occur.... "what ever happened to that nice little boat you made?" "Well, she wasn't used for a few years, and it ended up rotting". I built my first boat out of ACX and even put epoxy and fiberglass cloth over it, and the plywood eventually delaminated. My current boat is BS1088 Okume marine ply, and it is 7 years old and still like brand new, and plan to give it to a grandkid.
    The wife says I can have a mistress as long as she has ribs made of white oak.

AC is not ACX. That's why they have different names. It's possible that someone could make AC plywood and use exterior-rated glues and processes to make it, but why not then call it ACX and get more money for it? Because somehow (and they're not telling) it doesn't meet the specification for ACX, of course. AC is not ACX. (And ACX is not Marine, but that's a different question.)