Thread: Sani Tred - absolute nightmare!

Default Sani Tred - absolute nightmare!

I just started painting my deck with sani tred and it's by far the worst stuff I ever used! Absolute pig to work with. The first coat with permaflex was ok. Doesn't look fine and I didn't specify "tan" but well since it's more of a primer thought nothing about it.
    Today I started applying LRB and TAV and that's like working with mud. I tried to spread it with a foam roller, foam brush, normal brush, scraper, even with my bare hands but nothing worked to my satisfaction. I find it very hard to get consistent thickness. It won't bond to the permaflex at all, I can easily wipe it of. It doesn't seem to cure consitently possibly due to my changing the mixture over and over again.
    From the instructions it read like a piece of pie so I hadn't expected this desaster at all. At the moment I'm prepared to scrape it all off again BEFORE it cures. Costly experiment to say the least!

HELP!

Patric

Default Re: Sani Tred - absolute nightmare!

Have you called the Sanitred people? They seemed pretty responsive when I was looking into the stuff for my cabintop. I'd think they could help diagnose the problem.

Intercontinental calls aren't exactly cheap and at the moment I feel a bit like having been stupid enough to fall for the old snake oil ploy.
    I sent them a mail though.

I know a few here have used it with success. Don't panic until they've had a chace to respond.

Steven

I don't think I'd apply SaniTred on a cambered surface. had enough trouble with the slope of Marmalade's deck. One thing reading the directions told me was that it's a product meant for fairly level surfaces. Stuff is too thick in application for applications where gravity is a factor.

Foam rollers are totally out and foam brushes even more so. I had very good luck with cloth rollers and plastic squeegees.