Thread: Wind pressure on sails ?

Question Wind pressure on sails ?

Does any one know the lbs pressure on sail per Sq ft, say in a 5,10, 15, 20 25kt etc. wind ?

JD
    Senior Ole Salt # 650

I'm no expert on this, but I *think* that you have to be a lot more specific to get any hard numbers. Wind pressure on sails is really complex, and involves the speed of the sail through the air, the size of the sail, direction of the wind in relation to the sail, etc.

And of course for small boats, unless they are on the hard / rocks, they will tilt and spill the wind in many conditions. Sail tension and twist also should factor in.

From http://www.otherpower.com/cgi-bin/we...mes;read=16416 -

"
    Re: wind psi ?
    Posted By: Brian
    Date: Monday, 19 May 2003, at 5:25 p.m.

In Response To: wind psi ? (Chuck)
    I believe Ed used this equation to come up with his numbers, so I'll just give you the equation so you can figure it out at different elevations.
    The equation to find the air pressure at a certain velocity is 1/2(rho)(v^2) where rho=the density of the air at your site and v=the velocity of the wind. To get an accurate density number, just hit Google or any other search engine to find the density of air at your elevation and that will get you pretty close to the actual pressure at some wind speed v.
    Then like Ed said, just multiply the pressure by the area the wind is acting on to find the force acting on the object. Just be sure to watch your units and be sure they cancel out. The equation won't work if you mix US with SI units unless you do the appropriate conversions."

And even more fun stuff here - http://web.mit.edu/2.972/www/reports...sail_boat.html

"The enemies of reason have a certain blind look."
    Doctor Jacquin to Lieutenant D'Hubert, in Ridley Scott's first major film _The Duellists_.

Last edited by Bruce Taylor; 08-23-2007 at 10:16 PM.

That one's a keeper, Bruce.
    Very nice.