Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Alan
    • Nov 2000

advice on making metal mast band

I would like to make a stainless steel mast band for the top of a mast that is about two inches in diameter.

I would like to make it in two pieces so that it has ears for clamping and for holes to attach a forestay and a halyard block. I would guess it needs to be at least 1/8 inch thick.

I have very little metal working experience. Is this something that can be home made? If so, any suggestions as to how?

Thanks
    Alan Peck
  • Thorne
    Like my hat?
    • Aug 2005

Stainless can be hard to work -- I'd suggest getting a quote from a local stainless shop, then comparing that to the single-piece bands sold by US makers and possibly Davey importers like R&W Rope.

This isn't a part that you probably want to experiment with, as depending on the size of your boat and sailing conditions, failure could be dangerous/expensive.
    "The enemies of reason have a certain blind look."
    Doctor Jacquin to Lieutenant D'Hubert, in Ridley Scott's first major film _The Duellists_.

Comment

• Bob Smalser
      • Jun 2003

Bronze is more expensive, but much easier to work.

Last edited by Bob Smalser; 09-10-2006, 04:51 PM.
      Bob

http://www.wkfinetools.com/contrib/b...lser-index.asp
      http://www.woodcentral.com/cgi-bin/articles.pl#smalser

Comment

• Canoeyawl
        • Jun 2003

If all you need are a forestay and halyard block, perhaps a simple ‘tang” or strap bent over the top of the mast with a hole in each end for a shackle will serve. This type of fitting is a powerful attachment. Two through rivets will fasten it well. 1/8” material is ambitious, 1/16” maybe more suitable. Thin stainless straps are available at marine chandlers.
        Remember, weight aloft is your enemy…

Comment

• Bruce Hooke
          • Mar 2000