Thread: Oil finishes/Deks Olje

I have just started on construction of an Iain Oughtred Elf and am trying to decide on the finish to use(eventually).

I would like to bright finish but do not like the idea of constant sanding and varnishing. The idea of an oil finish is appealing as I feel a wipe over with oil on a regular basis is relatively easy maintenance.

I have heard of Deks Olje and was wondering if it would be ok to apply to a glued lapstrake ply construction. Some people seem to believe that an oil finish will help the ply delaminate, is this true?

I am using an Australian made Hoop pine ply (company is Brims) which is a very high quality marine grade ply.

thanks
    Lee

Originally posted by LLaver:
    ...Some people seem to believe that an oil finish will help the ply delaminate, is this true?

thanks
    Lee
    If your plywood is as good as the unfinished samples that I have been torturing since 2002, I can't imagine an oil finish contributing to delamination. My "testing" has included multiple boiling-freezing-boiling-baking-freezing-boiling cycles and months in my dishwasher which gets run almost daily.

Iain, in his book, is very fond of Norwegian Varnishing Oil for bright work. His Elf was bright finished throughout. Write to him and ask him what he used. Ask him if he would use it again.

Wayne
    In the Swamp.

I think you'll really like it. I'm more fond of the look of Deks #1 (matte finish) though the combination of #1 and Deks #2 will likely give you more protection along with a more glossy look. Application is a snap, you just need to do a lot of it at first and touching up scratches is simple.
    From Oughtred's Book: "OIL FINISH eg Deks Olje, Varnol - easy to apply and maintain - excellent penetration and flexibility mean better protection than any of the above" (oil paint, epoxy, polyurethane, water-based 'woodsealer' and exterior woodseal were mentioned).