Thread: Sail Area Differences

Default Sail Area Differences

After many years of deciding which boat to build and waiting for the kids to move out, I have decided to start building the Joel White Marsh Catboat this winter. Now the Marsh Catboat is 15'-0” LOA, with a 6'-11" beam, and a sail area of 152 ft². Another Catboat I heavily debated on was the Sea Gull by Fred Goeller Jr which has the same LOA and beam but a sail area of 216 ft² and the barn door rudder that I prefer. Now the question at hand is this: I live in Missouri and plan to use it in local lakes and rivers mostly but do plan to get her into saltwater at least once. What are the pro/con of the 2 sail areas (152 vs 216)? My thoughts are to build the bigger sail area and add a 2nd reef to get the sail small on windy days. But I'm relatively new to sailing and I could be missing something here. Any thoughts, wisdom, and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Default Re: Sail Area Differences

Putting a different sail rig on an existing design is not trivial. The geometry of the sail determines the location of its “center of effort” which needs to have a specific relationship with the hull and appendages’ “center of lateral resistance”. When the designers drew those two boats, they took care of this relationship for you, the builder. If you change the rig, then you are making yourself responsible for a big part of a successful sailing design.

It can be done with care, but for a first boat, it seems unnecessary to take that risk. Joel White was a highly respected boat designer. I can’t think of an a priori reason to mistrust the decisions he made. Until you have built the boat as designed, you won’t know it’s strengths or weaknesses either. I say trust your designer until you have lived with the boat and learned otherwise.

Just my two-cents from reading here and building my first sailboat … to the designers specifications.

-Neil
    Dreaming of sailing in Iowa, building a Carnell Nutmeg.