Thread: Newbie with Lots of Questions

Default Newbie with Lots of Questions

I've been searching the forum and have found a lot of useful information so far when it comes to First Builds. It seems everyone has their own set of questions they are looking to be answered and I find myself in the same situation.

To start with, I am a carpenter/builder of new homes and large home renovations so I am familiar with reading blueprints. I also have made furniture for quite a while so I am somewhat familiar with woodworking and have a decent (but small) shop to work from, so from that standpoint, I am not a newbie when it comes to woodworking, just in boat building.

I've lived on Barnegat Bay most of my life and have always had a spot in my heart for sneak boxes and garveys. I do a lot of fly fishing in the back bays and love the stability practicality of a garvey. I've owned a few in the past and kind of know what I am looking for. As such, I have decided to build a Ben Garvey 19'. Not a lot of posts specifically related to this build so I figured I would ask.

I received the plans a few weeks ago and have spent quite a few hours since pouring over the details. My first comment was that I was kind of surprised there were not more step by step instructions. The more I look at and absorb the details of the drawings the more it comes together, but there are still a lot of holes as to how to proceed.

My first concern is doing the build outside. My shop is not big enough to accommodate my bench, machinery and tools AND a 19' boat. I guess boats have been built outside for a long long time, so I am assuming this won't be an issue (as long as I pay attention to temperatures regarding epoxy and resins).