Thread: Pricing for boat work

Default Pricing for boat work

Somebody ( a new acquaintance) wants me to build the standard sailing rig for their nutshell pram (this is assuming it has a trunk, partners, mast step etc.)

So mast, spars(boom and yard), daggerboard and rudder. Likely lines and blocks too.

Would it be inappropriate for me to ask here what would be a reasonable price to charge?

I am up to the build but I have no idea off the top of my head exactly how many hours it would take.
    I don't expect to charge qualified shipwright rates, nor undermine those who make a living out of this.

South Puget Sound/summer Eastern carib./winter

Default Re: Pricing for boat work

since i have been working for free, about 10 years, i have not had a single problem with getting paid.
    not one
    simply amazing

Downingtown Pa (S/V NIrvana down in Rock Hall, Md)

my shop rate is $75/ hr. part of making money by working on boats is knowing how long it takes to do jobs. Its not like a book rate for car repairs, you need to know from your experience how long it takes to do a job. I know how long it would take me to build a solid spruce mast for a pram because I have done it many times. But 25 years ago I messed up on many jobs learning how long it takes me to complete them. Estimate your timeline and it you are incorrect, take notes and you will know better for the next time.

And take notes on how long it takes to do each part of the job.
    There is a joy in madness, that only mad men know. -Nieztsche