Thread: Early International Fourteen Foot Dinghies

Default Early International Fourteen Foot Dinghies

This is an exceptionally interesting picture, taken by John Green of Cowes and posted on his Facebook page.

IMAGINES VEL NON FUERINT

Default Re: Early International Fourteen Foot Dinghies

K4 is Laura, the earliest surviving boat built to the National Fourteen Foot rule, which was a merger of the West of England Conference and Norfolk Dinghy Rules. 1922, designed by Bill Atkey as in Pascal Atkey.

K545 is Sunrise, hot moulded by Fairey Marine to an Uffa Fox design in 1949 and first owned by Charles Currey. The first production International Fourteen.
    IMAGINES VEL NON FUERINT

I wonder if the primary difference is their rigging? Are their hulls shaped the same, but built using different materials/techniques?

Would also be interesting to know how they perform - is the older boat faster or slower?

Certainly a great photograph.

Regards Neil

I’m not an expert though I am the custodian of K478, Galatea, a 1946 Uffa Fox 14. Her construction is an inner skin of 1/16” Honduras mahogany laid diagonally, a layer of oiled cloth, an outer skin of 3/16” Honduras mahogany laid fore and aft and held to 3/8” x 1/4” Canadian rock elm bent frames at 2” centres. She is amazingly light and strong.

I haven’t seen “Laura” but I have seen pre-WW1 Morgan Giles dinghies and they are generally similar.

”Sunrise on the other hand is hot moulded with three skins.

In light airs I would expect Laura to keep up; in a stronger wind “Sunrise” will be able to plane and will vanish into the distance.
    IMAGINES VEL NON FUERINT

Are these the internationals with the 25 ft masts??
    I stupidly turned down a clinker, cedar on oak version project that was on an over-sized trailer I could've sold for more than the boat and trailer's asking price. Lovely boat, wish I'd bought it. At the time I thought it was more project than I could handle.