Page 1 of 3 12 ... LastLast

Thread: Designing a Sailboat

Default Designing a Sailboat

Ahoy All!

My name is Robert Dobbs and like so many others, I'm building a sailboat, wooden of course

Since this is my first post at the WoodenBoat Forum, I thought it best to ask first... Is this the correct area of the forum to post a self-designed sailboat?

If so, I have some rudimentary drawings I'd like to show, all who are interested, and ask for opinions as to how to approach certain aspects of the build.

Perhaps I should introduce myself a bit more. I live in the North Georgia mountains about an 1.5 hours from Lake Lanier, which is where I'm planning my first launch. I've been building custom homes here since 1995. I've also built custom furniture, cabinets, an acoustic guitar, and even an electric guitar combo amplifier. It is my hope that my hands-on carpentry experience will aid in this sailboat building project. Of course, these accomplishments are quite a bit different from building the compound curves of a sailboat hull. Still, I think I'm up for the challenge, and quite honestly, looking forward to realizing a 40 year old dream.

So, here I am, newbie at the WoodenBoat Forum. I welcome any and all comments.

Thanks in advance!

Default Re: Designing a Sailboat

Sure, this is a good place for a thread on building any boat, self-designed or not.

I expect you'll get many opinions as to the wisdom of designing your own boat vs. building from plans drawn by an established designer. Don't let it drive you away--this really is a fabulous place to learn from LOTS of knowledgeable people.

Tom
    Ponoszenie konsekwencji!

www.tompamperin.com

Quote Originally Posted by WI-Tom View Post
    I expect you'll get many opinions as to the wisdom of designing your own boat vs. building from plans drawn by an established designer. Don't let it drive you away--this really is a fabulous place to learn from LOTS of knowledgeable people.

Tom
    This ^