Thread: Reefing A Boomless Sail

Default Reefing A Boomless Sail

I went with a boomless sail on my 9-1/2 ft pram for all the reasons people choose them, plus this one has a 2 piece mast so easily fits in the boat, out of the way, for rowing.

The sail has full length battens and a single row of reef points but my problem is that I can't figure out how to reef while on the underway, when the foot & clew is swung out downwind over the water, out of reach. Adding a boom so jiffy reefing can be used is a possibility but a last resort, as I really like the sail otherwise. Sheetlets like a junk rig occurred to me but I have zero experience.

I hope to do some longish sails in semi-open water (Puget Sound) so really want a way to safely reef while underway.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Photo of sail rig below.

IMG_3020.jpg

Thank you.

Default Re: Reefing A Boomless Sail

Swing her into the wind to start. Leave reef pendants on tack and leech permanently bent on. You may be able to use a hook at the tack and a caribiner on your clew to speed stuff. You are going to have to drop the sail some and rehoist.
    Ben Fuller
    Ran Tan, Liten Kuhling, Tipsy, Tippy, Josef W., Merry Mouth, Imp, Macavity, Look Far, Flash and a quiver of other 'yaks.
    "Bound fast is boatless man."

Will she stay pointed into the wind while you get the reefs in? Yes to permanently rigging everything. maybe toggle/eye robands for the foot? Speed and consistency. Might even be easier to drop the whole sail, will it slide down the mast easily with "a cap full o' wind" in it?

Nifty little boat.
    Steve

If you would have a good boat, be a good guy when you build her - honest, careful, patient, strong.
    H.A. Calahan

Thanks to both Ben and Steve. I was hoping for some magic elixir but lowering the sail is good advice. It could be tugged down okay, and for raising, the glide ring at the masthead could be replaced with a small becket block.