Thread: Bit sore today

Default Bit sore today

Finally got in to have the cute little umbilical hernia I had repaired.

Originally slated for 12:30 this afternoon, they had a cancellation and I was able to walk in the door 2 hours early. While repaired, I now have a belly full of very uncomfortable air and 4 holes in my belly. Three on the side from where they inserted the labiscropic tool and one over where the hernia was. While I am glad it is fixed, This hurt worse than I expected.

What I do find funny, I work a dangerous job, I have dangerous hobbies, and I have crohns disease yet this is my first time under the knife. When I was in for pre-admission testing, the nurse was asking me about pain. I had none. She wanted to give me a level from 1 to 10 about what would keep me from sleeping. I did not have a number for her. I have a slightly torn rotator cuff in my right arm, it has never kept me up. I tore up my left hand with a hole saw a few years ago. I got 9 stitches and got back from hospital in time to go to work.

Even right now, sitting and laying down are not painful. Standing is uncomfortable, and going from one activity to another does hurt. I confused the nurses when I told them I did not want pain killers. They got me a prescription anyway, but I am not going to pick them up. I simply do not hurt that much that I feel I need them.

I did get the side eye about this, makes me wonder if I am strange or something?

This is how I got the hernia.. moving a literally ton of CO2

20220509_182114.jpg
    "If you think you are too small to make a difference, try sleeping with a mosquito"

-Dalai Lama

Default Re: Bit sore today

dude, always get the pain killers
    and the next day request more and stronger ones
    they have a long shelf life and ya never know when youre gonna run up against a need for them in the future