Thread: Just launched my first boat and now thinking about the nextů

Question Just launched my first boat and now thinking about the nextů

Iĺve just launched my first boat, a CLC Skerry with a balanced lug rig which I built from plans. It was an amazing experience and Iĺm looking forward to a Summer of sailing fun but also thinking about the next sailing boat. I guess boatbuilding is like that?

I was a complete beginner before the Skerry and I found the detailed instruction manual from CLC to be really well done. For the next project Iĺd really like to build something in a much more traditional way than stitch and glue - ideally with no epoxy. Something maybe slightly bigger than the Skerry, obviously heavier, hopefully a little more seaworthy and yet still trailerable and rowable (is that a real word?). Lapstrake double ender?

Iĺm hoping some of you can share your wisdom andgive me some pointers to books, resources, plans, instructions etc. or just some general advice. Also happy to hear if you think My plans are too ambitious.

Darren Okubo
    Hokkaido, Japan
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: Just launched my first boat and now thinking about the nextů

Congratulations. There is nothing like that first sail. What is access to wood like in Japan? What species are available?

Thanks Mike, around here we have a lot of karamatsu (Japanese larch) and silver birch along with oak, mountain ash and cedar. Japan is 70% forested and ranges from long cold snowy Winters up here in Hokkaido to sub tropical in the south so we have a good selection to choose from and generally it’s really good quality. The higher grades of construction ply are also great quality with no voids so I used that for the skerry.

What are the traditional small fishing boats in that area? That would be the place I'd start my search.

A sabani?

-Dave