Thread: discovered rot in mizzenmast. Please help. first experience with wood mast.

Default discovered rot in mizzenmast. Please help. first experience with wood mast.

Hey all,
    so I am just about to purchase a boat and discovered rot in the base of the deck stepped mizzen mast. I love the boat. But I don't know what's repairable and what's safe with regards to wood mast. its soft from just above the 4" high stainless sleeve to about 1.5 feet up. its a sitka spruce, appears to be laminated with a wire tunnel. I was thinking of cutting it and laminating some plates and building a metal sleeve with bolts, possibly doing it in place by drilling a hole in good wood and lifting its weight off the deck and then cut out and rebuild a new base. Im in Hawaii now and its not cool to do shipyard here. im an experienced sailor/marine engineer. I have crossed oceans before. im thinking of making a laminated sleeve or a metal sleeve and sail it to mexico for shipyard. please don't lecture me about the dangers. im looking for ideas about a solid patch that can get me to mexico and then how permanent and worthwhile it would be to to a full repair there vs an aluminum swap. thanks guys. I love this forum btw. a great source of knowledge and wisdom that is getting rarer.
    fair seas,

PS Image should be attached.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: discovered rot in mizzenmast. Please help. first experience with wood mast.

Hi, welcome to the forum.
    You cannot repair that in place, the mast must be lifted out.
    You suggest that it is a solid, albeit laminated mast. If so, cut off the rotten heel and use a bird's mouth or cloths pin scarf to replace it. Look in this link for the how-to.
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/arbord...57624466966133
    If you have not bought the boat yet, work out the cost of craning the mast in and out, the cost of the timber and glues that you will need and negotiate a suitable financial deal with the vendor.