Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 1928 gaff schooner sail construction?

Default 1928 gaff schooner sail construction?

I am new to drawing schooners and am drawing NIĐA at the Needles Lighthouse durning the Fastnet Race but can't find a good photo of her from 1928 to render her sails accurately.
    I have found newer photo with broad seams.
    Any information about how she would have been rigged would be greatly appreciated.
    John

Work in process
    NINA.jpg
    John H.

Default Re: 1928 gaff schooner sail construction?

BRILLIANT's style of sail stitching is similar of that's what you're looking for.
    37.jpg
    "So we beat on, paddleboats against the wake of a neighborĺs jet ski, born back ceaselessly into the past." The Great Lakes Gatsby

Nina was a stays'l schooner as in your drawing, unlike Brilliant.

South Puget Sound/summer Eastern carib./winter

1928...I recon the sails may have had vertipickle seams and not full battens .
    How can you see broadseamas in a photo ?

rgbarr,
    BRILLIANT, What a beauty, built in 1931 and designed by Olin J. Stephens II who died at 100 years of age. A naval architect that also designed with Starling Burgess for the 1937 America’s Cup races, a J Class sloop.
    Those are modern sails on BRILLIANT, yes. I am looking for historical information.
    Would NIĐA's Sails been made from the standard width of cotton sail cloth of 24-inch out of No. 4, No. 6, and No. 8 cotton duck?
    I am talking about NIĐA a Starling Burgess and Morgan Design.

Here is an early rough draft of a topsail schooner, none in particular. With some of the seams running parallel with the leech on the main gaff sail, fore gaff sail and fisherman. I have the top sail, flying jib, and main gaff top sail seams running perpendicular to the leech.
    Untitled .jpg