Thread: Betas and Yanmars

Default Betas and Yanmars

What are the pros and cons of each? I'm looking to repower. Yanmar, for me, is a known commodity to a degree, but I have no personal experience with Beta. They have a good reputation, and I just quite like the idea of a marinized Kubota. It seems robust.
    Chuck Hancock

Default Re: Betas and Yanmars

Watching with interest. I had a Yanmar in my old boat and it seemed really reliable, but heavy. I've been looking at the Beta option for a repower on my new (old) boat (frozen snot) and I like the weight improvement and some of the service features, like the built in oil pump for oil changes. That's about all I know about 'em.

Yes, and at a glance, the Beta on my list is ever so slightly larger in a couple of relevant dimensions, tho not so that I think it will be a problem.
    Chuck Hancock

I'd like to repower, looked at Yanmar but they've become enormous width wise. Simply won't fit.
    Most of them are common rail now too which may or may not be an issue for you. Beta is older and simpler, normal size for hp, injector pump..

Yes, and at a glance, the Beta on my list is ever so slightly larger in a couple of relevant dimensions, tho not so that I think it will be a problem.
    Chuck Hancock

Sorry John, I'm a sailor ��, what's "common rail"?
    Chuck Hancock

A modern fuel injection system aimed at cleaner emissions compared to the old mechanically injected systems. Electronics figure large in most common rail engines. Can be fussy in the way that electronics/sensors/etc are.

Modern common rail injection requires an onboard computer (ecu) and a healthy battery. https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Common_rail