Thread: Desperate help needed - first cedar strip canoe build

Default Desperate help needed - first cedar strip canoe build

Hello, as the title suggests I'm in desperate need of help. I'm a novice woodworker building my first cedar strip canoe (stemless 16 footer) and the build has become a complete disaster. I could really use the forum's help and advice in salvaging this project. I have too much time and money invested to let this go.

My problems started early on. I was unable to use my 1/4" shank router to rout the bead and cove strips on my planks. I opted not to upgrade to a 1/2" shank router because my costs were spiraling out of control and winter was rapidly coming in, when it would be too cold to work. I started building my hull without routing the strips. I knew it wasn't ideal but didn't realize just how terrible of an idea that was.

Taking this shortcut proved more damaging than I had initially thought. I was unable to sand it smooth enough to get a good fit with the fiberglass and as a result I have air bubbles and it just doesn't look very good. I can live with the exterior but fiberglassing the interior was a complete disaster and it seems that in some areas the epoxy even became gummy for some reason. Sawdust bonded to these areas and now I have huge patches of gummy, stained epoxy.

I tried sanding through these areas to get down to the wood and reapply epoxy, but it somehow seems to be making things worse. I have no idea what to do. I'm considering painting the boat.

I also really screwed up both ends. My wood planks were slightly too short and I couldn't get the ends to fit together. I used a moldable epoxy to try and sculpt the ends of the canoe but it was hard to work and the result was yet another disaster. It's very lumpy after fiberglassing, as you can see, and I painted it green to hide the epoxy I used to fuse it together.