Thread: Building a boat using hand-tools only.

Default Building a boat using hand-tools only.

Has anyone done this, or know of anyone who has done it? I'm not talking about a small skin-on-frame canoe, a dug-out, or a coracle, but a substantial boat. I met a guy in Morocco many years ago who was just finishing a 30+ foot boat which he made on the beach with a bare collection of handtools, and as a lifelong woodworker I knew how much work that entailed. I use hand tools a lot, and often make pieces of furniture using no power tools, but I can't imagine building say a 20 foot yacht without the aid of electrickery.

Default Re: Building a boat using hand-tools only.

I suspect the task would take longer and one would have some substantial upper body strength at the journey's end. Also, the value of a truly sharp edge would be deeply appreciated. It's not my thing, but I applaud those who do.

Jeff

The most sophisticated 'hand tool construction' starts with the tree. Size and shape selection for the natural crooks, planks etc. It's then felled and split, so you get perfect longitudinal grain with zero run out. Splitting it quarter sawn gives naturally bevelled planks perfect for lapstrake construction. And so it goes on. You see this with Norse boat construction or did when it was a boat for the village and the village chief headed off into the wood. It extended to the Viking sea chests - you see the perfect grain. It's why Norse construction rewards close study and understanding.

Very little waste like this too. Modern quarter sawing by machine leaves alot wasted as sawdust. It's still a valid approach but in reality getting the tree is difficult and splitting takes time to achieve. Even getting crooks - tree surgeons want the tree down and cut up for firewood in a day and you are a pain in the ass stopping the getting home, stood there with some pattern.