Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I would like some advice on wrenches, or spanners...

Default I would like some advice on wrenches, or spanners...

I have been messing about with wooden boats for fifty one years. Over that time I have acquired some familiarity with the hand tools that one uses on wood, and have acquired, as one does, rather more tools than I need.

When it comes to spanners and such like I have just bought the cheapest.

I am now reconsidering this, as I now own a boat with rather more “engineering” about her.

I found I had some old spanners, picked up at car boot sales, which were less rubbishy. One in particular seems rather nicer and has the interesting name KING DICK on it. I realise now that spanners are not all the same, any more than planes and handsaws and chisels are.

What are the spanner equivalents of Stanley, Record, Disston and so on? What should I look for?
    IMAGINES VEL NON FUERINT

Default Re: I would like some advice on wrenches, or spanners...

King Dick is still in busuness.
    https://www.kingdicktools.co.uk/info...-king-dick-100

They would seem a good choice if you wish to buy made in the UK.

In the USA, Snap-On is well regarded by the pros.
    Steve Martinsen

Quote Originally Posted by SMARTINSEN View Post
    King Dick is still in busuness.
    https://www.kingdicktools.co.uk/info...-king-dick-100

They would seem a good choice if you wish to buy made in the UK.

In the USA, Snap-On is well regarded by the pros.
    Thank you. And now I know that King Dick was the name of the prize bulldog owned by the owner of the business, around 1900, and they have a delightfully amateurish website and promotional video, so they will get some business from me!
    IMAGINES VEL NON FUERINT