Thread: wood grain

Default wood grain

Rather than hijack Pete's thread, let me post here. I'm a novice about a lot of boat building things. I'd be building the same boat he is, so I'd need 9' oars as well. These would be my first oars. I have built a birdsmouth mast. Here's the piece of lumber I found at a family owned yard back then. I believe it was spruce. Doesn't appear to be particularly tight-grained though it does appear to be straight-grained and rift-sawn. (if my untrained eye is seeing correctly)
    build91.jpg

So here's a question about wood grain. Pete was kind enough to answer a question over on his thread about what to look for in wood for oars (or any spar I would imagine). See post #238 here: http://forum.woodenboat.com/showthre...r+islands+yawl. He bought lumber from a box store for his oars. I'm thinking I'd do the same and spend $40 vs $100+ to order a nice piece of wood. His advice was to buy 1) straight boards 2) no knots or as close to it as possible 3) straight and tight grain. From the following picture I believe I would recognize straight grain.

Six General grains.jpg
    Tight grain would be with lines closer together I would guess. Here's a stack of 2x3's from my store. Looks like most of them are tight grained. Right?

grain.jpg
    How much difference does the cut make as illustrated in this picture?
    75-759206_wooden-log-png-straight-on-wood-grain-cathedral.jpg
    Would center-cut be preferable. Some in the stack I saw were center-cut. Most seem mixed. How significant is the cut of the wood in choosing? Pete's appear to be riftsawn, straight-grained and rift-sawn.

Here's Pete's
    Pete's oars.jpg
    And btw, his oars are looking very nice!!!

Default Re: wood grain

Fairly tight grain once you get away from the heart.
    Those pieces are sawn as "boxed heart" and you should avoid that like the plague.

(This is "tight grained" Doug Fir, maybe 30+ rings per inch)

Those 2x3s are cut from the tippy tops of trees.