Thread: Need advice on Fiberglass please

Default Need advice on Fiberglass please

Hello,
    I'm building a 17' CC and am getting to the point where I need to start getting fiberglass. The plans I have call for 2 layers of 6 or 10 oz cloth on the outside.
    I can get BIAXIAL MAT 1700 , 30" (standard 17 oz double Bias fiberglass cloth) for $2.50 a yard. Here's what I'm thinking.... first layer of 1700 followed by a single layer of 6 oz. I think it would save me money and make the hull stronger than just using 2 layers of 6 oz or 10 oz.
    My logic is the 1700 is the build up and the 6oz cloth as the second layer would be easier for me as a newbie to fairing as my understanding is the 1700 is not as smooth. I'm new to this and never fiberglassed before, so let me know your thoughts.

Thanks!

Default Re: Need advice on Fiberglass please

Please pardon my directness, but why - particularly as a novice boatbuilder - do you not want to follow the instructions of the designer?
    Hope for the best, but plan for the worst.

I'm not going to name the designer but he is pretty popular and sells a lot of ply on frame plans. He has very few stitch and glue plans... which I brought. He obviously never built this model because the plans have a few flaws in them, so I've lost faith in him. Wrong size frame, impossible bend at the bow... etc. Anyway, I am thinking that the extra fiberglass would only make the boat stronger.

The extra glass may make it stronger...but stronger for what? Two layers of 6 oz on top of 3/8" or 1/2" ( I'm guessing) plywood is already pretty freaking strong. Stronger than any normal use will see, that's for sure.

Additionally, that extra glass will add time and money and increase the boat's weight as well as its fuel bill.

But, its your boat. Have fun!

Kevin
    There are two kinds of boaters: those who have run aground, and those who lie about it.