Thread: Cutting plywood

Default Cutting plywood

I was given a Rotozip Heavy Duty Spiral Saw SCS01. I have never used a spiral saw before. What kind of bit would be best to cut 6mm and 9mm okoume plywood? I am on the verge of building another boat (my 4th but first lapstrake - the CIY 16 is at the top of my list). I'll be building from plans not the kit, so I'm looking for the best way to cut the plywood accurately and efficiently. I figure the Rotozip would at least be best for the smaller pieces with tighter curves. Needless to say, it will require a lot of cutting. I also have a circular saw, router, table saw, jig saw and band saw.

Default Re: Cutting plywood

I can’t really see a use for that saw in boatbuilding. I’d stick with the circular saw and jigsaw.

Rotozip's not up to taking on plywood for building a boat. Be fine for drywall or maybe plastic laminate but the heat from a spiral cutting tool of such a small diameter cutting marine ply is gonna make a mess of your material pretty quickly.

Use the circular saw, jig saw, maybe band saw & certainly that router (with suitable pilot fitted to your baseplate if you're working from patterns or templates) for getting out stuff to shape.

Maybe buy a decent Japanese pull saw too, get to know it well. I find mine to be invaluable.

Circular saw with straight edge guide for straight cuts. Jig saw for curved cuts.

...and get a real circular saw blade made specifically for cutting plywood, not some sort of combination or general purpose blade. The difference in the quality and smoothness of the cut edges left behind by the proper plywood blade is quite substantial.

An 85mm circular saw. Lightweight, single hand, cuts long curves quickly, thin kerf. Corded or cordless. Some of them also have a bevel capability. Plenty videos on Youtube.

the Roto-Zip and it's clones(large and small) have a tendency to take off on a tangent as it comes in contact w/ differing material densities so commonly encountered in wood