Thread: Ply and timber dinghy?

Default Ply and timber dinghy?

Hello there,
    I am a carpenter/forester/timber framer/furniture maker. I have always had a fascination with wooden boats, but living quite far from the sea, it has always been a fairly abstract fascination. (Although living quite far from the sea in the UK would probably be classed as living by the sea is the US).

My fascination has slowly built into a mania and I fear that I am close to taking the unprofitable and time consuming leap into building one!
    Much of my carpentry work revolves around using naturally curved timber and I have access to a range of species of standing timber as well as a sawmill, plenty of good hand tools and woodworking machines. So in this respect I am well set up for building a traditional wooden boat.
    However, after doing lots of reading, I have finally accepted that the kind of boat that would suit my situation is not clinker built using real wood.... It would need to be a vessel that could be taken in and out of the water and dry stored. It will likely be used mostly on rivers, and sometimes launched where there is no proper slipway. So for weight and resilience it seems like ply and epoxy is the way I must go.
    The boat would mostly be used for rowing on the river (quite shallow in places), but I would also like to learn to sail on her (so needs to hold 2 people in this configuration) and it would be nice to have the possibility of attaching an electric outboard.