Thread: ceramic guide sparks

Default ceramic guide sparks

Ok, I knew when I bought the Laguna bandsaw that the ceramic guides gave off sparks. This is the best bandsaw I ever had. I'm so tired of having a smoldering fire under the table in the sawdust. Usually by the lower guide. With the dust collector on it's even worse. Even with everything adjusted correctly the sparks still fly. Some woods are different, big planks of dry cedar and I always have to check for something smoldering. I would replace that back guide with a roller if I could. Yes I should have thought of this before I bought the saw. Though I still love the saw. Anybody else notice this with ceramic guides?

Default Re: ceramic guide sparks

My Grizzly came with rollers. I'd thought about witching to ceramics (I really don't know why) but maybe I'll refrain. I finally had to replace the rollers after 20 years, but I'm just a hobby woodworker, so that might not tally for you.

I didn't know that ceramic guides give off sparks. I've had a Sears Craftsman bandsaw for well over 30 years, and somewhere along the line - at least 20 years ago - I switched to ceramic guides, and have never seen a single spark. Don't remember the brand, or where I got them, all I can tell you is that they are white, and work great!

The guides give off sparks?!!! I would replace them immediately with something/anything else. Carve some out of some teak before you use those ceramic ones again. Sparks, smoldering fires... good grief!

There has to be something else. Is Carter still making guides. Way back when they had replacements for most saws. Research....

Jeff

Quote Originally Posted by jpatrick View Post
    The guides give off sparks?!!! I would replace them immediately with something/anything else. Carve some out of some teak before you use those ceramic ones again. Sparks, smoldering fires... good grief!