Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Repairing a 1956 Chris Craft Barracuda Kit Boat

Default Repairing a 1956 Chris Craft Barracuda Kit Boat

Hello all,

Iíve been searching the forum for the past few weeks as Iíve just purchased my first boat. Itís a small 12í 1956 Christ Craft Barracuda (kit boat). The boat was fully restored about 10 years ago, but has been sitting dry in a garage for the past 5 years.
    I sanded the ablative paint well, took care of some small epoxy fills where previous repairs were failing, and put a couple coats of Hydrocoat on the bottom. I just launched the other day and found I was getting some good leaking through the transom and hull joint. The boat is out of the water now while I figure out how to solve this problem!

Iím inclined to put a band aid on the issue for this season and fix it for real in the off-season. Iím a woodworker by trade and have a full woodshop above my barn where I store the boat - so not afraid to do whatever is necessary, but am anxious to get boating this seasonÖ I plan to store the boat in the freshwater pond for the whole season.

Thank you in advance for any and all advice!

Default Re: Repairing a 1956 Chris Craft Barracuda Kit Boat

Photo should bring you through Flickr album

CC

Nice looking boat and trailer. Can you show any pics of the leaking area from both an inside and outside view? Have you poked around for any soft wood in the ply and the in the transom? If the ply is rotten, the rot might extend farther than you think and you'd have to worry about the integrity of the hull planking being able to withstand all the forces it would be subjected to while underway. Tap around the ply and listen for dull sounding areas that would indicate the presence of rot. You might also search for bad areas by poking around a bit with a sharp tool to see if you can find any soft spots.

South Puget Sound/summer Eastern carib./winter

This is a plywood boat, right?