Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Choosing a sail rig for a 24' catamaran Wa'Apa

Default Choosing a sail rig for a 24' catamaran Wa'Apa

I've been working from home for 3 months, so I have taken the opportunity to build Gary Dierking's 24' Wa'Apa sailing canoe. I'm almost done with both hulls as I plan to mostly use it as a catamaran and I'm starting to gather material for the sail rig. I have never even been on a sailboat (while it was sailing), but do have a great deal of experience on the water. I've done a lot of reading, but there's only so much that can be understood without first hand experience. I do like the sound of a lug or sprit sail. I think I need about 100 sq ft of mainsail area and 50 sq ft of job.

Since this is a catamaran and the mast will be between the hulls, I have to use a stayed mast. What I'm worried about is the mast stays interfering with my sail rig. What should I consider to avoid any problems here? Any input whatsoever will be appreciated. Yes, I could email Gary, and may still, but as someone who spends most of his day answering clueless people's emails, I hate adding to email load.

This is a rare photo of me actually wearing a shirt working on the boat.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: Choosing a sail rig for a 24' catamaran Wa'Apa

I'll chime in here first.

I would strongly suggest that email to Gary. Heck, you may not be the first one to have asked him this and he may already have a well thought out reply waiting in the wings.

I do like lug rigs but putting an unstayed mast on a catamaran is probably more trouble than it's worth and stays would interfere with it for sure. Best to go with a more conventional sail plan. I know in my area there are often complete rigs with sails for sale with or without an unusable hull and just about every type of rig has been used on the Wa'apas. Do write me if you want to talk more.