Collapse
X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Seederstrip
    • May 2020

First timer advice

Hi all. I've never owned a wooden boat, just tinnies, but have always appreciated the beauty of wood boats. I am interested in one I have found locally here in Ontario. It's a Peterborough boat, just a basic bench seat tiller style. It looks like a restoration has been started, it's inside and stripped. I'm going to go look at it later this week. I'm hoping some of you who have been down this road before can give me some advice on what to look for. I'm a welder not a woodworker so I don't want to get into disassembly down to the bones, but I'm not afraid of sanding and finishing etc. Thanks for all and any advice.
  • UCanoe_2
    • Jan 2008

Re: First timer advice

Welcome to the forum, and remember to post pictures.
    "George Washington as a boy
    was ignorant of the commonest
    accomplishments of youth.
    He could not even lie."

-- Mark Twain

Comment

• Rich Jones
      What boat to build next?
      • Apr 2009

Welcome!
      Yes, post pictures so we can get a look at it.
      A couple of shots of the whole boat, then shots of the transom inside and out. Also some close up shots of the ribs and any areas that you feel might be suspect.
      I was born on a wooden boat that I built myself.
      Skiing is the next best thing to having wings.

Comment

• David G
        • Dec 2003

When taking fotos for group review... pay particular attention to areas that look compromised... and areas where water might logically puddle. Take an awl or knife with you, and poke gently all over. You'll soon see the difference between sound wood (barely penetrates) and punky wood. If there's punky wood in the structural members... this boat might not be for you. If you do proceed, those are generally well-built boats, and will come out beautifully with the proper attention.
        David G
        Harbor Woodworks
        https://www.facebook.com/HarborWoodworks/