Thread: Restoring - 25' Wooden Motor Boat from Poole England

Default Restoring - 25' Wooden Motor Boat from Poole England

Hello All,

I have been lurking about on the site and learning as I restore my boat. I have named her La Enchanted. She is dry-docked on our farm in Sebastopol, CA and when she is ready, she will be in the waters of San Francisco Bay. I haven’t posted, on the mere, fact that progress is slow and nothing truly interesting has happened. But things have changed and I see enough progress to share my story.

I was a journeyman carpenter and restored many Victorians here in SF. I always had dreamed of restoring an old wooden boat and regret I did not choose a career involving maritime industries on the SF Bay. That being said, I am not afraid of technical challenges that come with restoration work. I know how to keep water out of an old house and hope on my new journey those skills will translate well.

I purchased the boat from a U.S. Marine (Wounded Warrior) that was more than gracious in pointing me in the right direction to start this odyssey. He, in turn, told me he had purchased the boat in San Diego from an older gentleman who told him she once patrolled the harbor in San Diego for the U.S. Navy. He could not prove it but was told as much.

I believe I have found a sister ship online that has links to the evacuation of Dunkirk and I am excited to start that research once she is underway. As for now, I am painstakingly going through the process of saving what I can to keep as much of the original woodwork.

When I purchased her, she had a layer of glassing apply to the hull below the waterline. It ran from the water to the keel. Much of it was separating which made removing it an easy decision and task. I intend to clean up the planks and re-caulk the seams. I found however that the seams had been splined to accept the glassing was my guess.