Thread: Can paint be avoided on a larch clinker?

Default Can paint be avoided on a larch clinker?

Hello,

I recently had an 18ft clinker built for fresh water use and I was hoping to maintain the natural wooden look by using some combination of oils and sealers. She has larch planking and oak ribs, and I'd rather not hide the grain under paint. I'm a novice in this regard, and so far I have found the following:

1. There are plenty of oils and UV-resistant varnishes for above the waterline.
    2. Varnishes are not designed for continual use BELOW the waterline (sometimes this is in the finer print).
    3. Oils such as Deksolje D1 are designed for use below the waterline, but must be over coated with a varnish (such as D2), which can only withstand temporary submersion.

My boat will remain in water for 4 or 5 months each year. I don't have a boat house, so I will partially sink the boat at a small quay to protect her from the sun and keep the timbers swollen. This practice would however appear to present a challenge in treating the hull with anything other than an anti-fouling paint.

I'd be grateful for any pointers/ideas please. It would be nice to be able to apply just one type of coating to the entire boat, while preserving the timber and maintaining a stained appearance.

Default Re: Can paint be avoided on a larch clinker?

Rather than give you information that would not, necessarily apply to your case, you might seek local knowledge in your area. Taking care of a boat is a lot like taking care of a woman! How long would she stick with you if you did not give her proper care?
    You are wise to seek information before it is needed. I would lean toward Varnish or paint myself. Antifouling is a must in salt water.
    Jay

Boat soup, above WL. Paint + AF below.

I am not a fan of "boat soup" ... my wife says it is almost impossible to get that smelly black sticky sh!t out of my white flannels.

I use a lot of DO #1