Thread: which primary fuel filter for yanmar?

Default which primary fuel filter for yanmar?

Can I use this fuel filter on my yanmar 2gm?
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: which primary fuel filter for yanmar?

I do not like fuel filters with multiple plastic parts or potential leak points.

I might look at something like this;

IMG_4794.jpg

Yes, you can.

Kevin

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
    There are two kinds of boaters: those who have run aground, and those who lie about it.

Default which primary fuel filter for yanmar?

Yep. I have an older version for my 1GM10 using a 10 micron filter.

Ken

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OK, thanks.

I'm still kind of new to diesels.

Canoeyawl, I can see the logic behind your choice. Fewer fail points. And, no melting in case of a fire?
    I was thinking the see-through bowl helps you gauge the condition of the fuel in the tank by being able to see how much water and debris are coming into the filter.
    But if you are happy with the Yamaha, maybe it's not such an issue if you change the filter regularly. Is that the case?

That "Yamaha" filter was just a grabbed image and probably not my best choice as it may be for gasoline not diesel.
    My point was that a metal spin-on filter will work fine. Check the owners manual for the correct micron rating for your engine.
    My experience with the Racor type filters is they are often installed on the suction side of the fuel system and can be the cause of an air leak. Used on the pressure side of a transfer pump they are fine.
    (The metal one piece spin on filters are good reliable filters and will work reliably anywhere in the system)

Racor and many others have different filters for pressure and vacuum and some with a priming pump built in.
    Personally I'm a fan of the Turbine type vacuum filters but to be honest even the smallest racor 500MA turbine series is a bit over kill for a small 1 or 2 cylinder diesel.