Thread: Please help lacing mainsail to gaff

Default Please help lacing mainsail to gaff

Hello, I am so frustrated, I am new to gaff rigs and I am trying to bend the mainsail on. I am aware of the various methods, ribands as well as lacing and I very much want to lace it on. I have what are considered great books that should theoretically square me away. I have "Hand, Reef, and Steer" I have "The Complete Riggers Apprentice" among others.
    All show the pattern of marlin hitches- that part is no problem, but none of them show how to start it. What knot is used through the hole at the end of the gaff? What about the two holes right before the gaff jaws?
    can someone shed some light on this for me? There seems to be a good reason for the proper way of doing things and I want to learn it. Any photos would be a huge help.
    My boat is a Blue Moon yawl and while I (as well as my sailing friends) are well versed in modern Bermuda rigs I have no knowledge-yet on traditional sailing rigs but want to learn badly.
    Thanks in advance to any who can help

Default Re: Please help lacing mainsail to gaff

One school of thought on the subject is to avoid any sort of continuous lacing, hitching, etc. and go with individual robands (ties) at every grommet. The reason is that they are immune to group failure if anything goes wrong, chafes through, comes undone, etc. Reason #2 is that you can prevent the sail's shape changing away from what it was designed to be. The migration of slack in the lacing lines and the subsequent shifts in the distances between the edges of the sail and the spar can change the sail's draft amount and its location, and generally not in a desirable way. Individual ties don't allow this.

My only experience is with smaller boats, but I really like the flexibility of robands -- and they allow you to easily remove and re-attach the sail quite quickly when compared to most sail-lacing systems.
    "The enemies of reason have a certain blind look."