Thread: Recommended Boat Software for Beginners

Default Recommended Boat Software for Beginners

Hey y'all,
    So, I'm a college student and I've decided that this summer I want to try and build a scaled down version of a Viking Longship... I'm thinking 15-20'. Anyways I was wondering about software to get to design it. Any recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Default Re: Recommended Boat Software for Beginners

https://freeship-plus.en.softonic.com/

http://www.marin.ntnu.no/havromstekn...Manual_2.6.pdf

It works for me.

You will need to rough out a lines plan on graph paper, and create the input files, I use EXCEL to rough fair the offsets from the graph paper and format the input files. Then you can fair and develop the hull form in Freeship.

P.S. Welcome to the forum.
    It really is quite difficult to build an ugly wooden boat.

The power of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web
    The weakness of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web.

Quick question about that software, where would I find some sort of tutorial on how to use it properly?

You can find useful info here on this site, on the web, and on boatdesign.net. Your most useful info is in the manual but you’ll still take 100 hrs using in order for what you do to be properly useful. Start with a blank slate and then simple shapes first to get the fundamental ideas.
    Other than offsets, another method you’ll most likely use is to get plan and sideview jpgs, underlay those in the program and ‘just’ draw over them to get the 3d shape you want to the size you want. It’s easy to scale all to fit. The ‘just’ is what will take time to learn in order to get useful output.
    These boats have lots of strakes, so learn to draw in an organized coherent manner so that all the strakes will have an inherent geometric relationship to one another.