Thread: Modify a dory

Default Modify a dory

Seven, eight years ago my son and I built a12 foot Banks Dory from Gardners Dory Book. Not the greatest boat ever but he got to build a boat with little more than a table of offsets and a single page of sketches.

As Ian warned, its a bear to row and so has not been used as much as it should have.

Rather than scrap it, we are contemplating whacking the handsome tombstone transom off it and installing a new transom further forward, about halfway to the last set of frames, plumb enough and with a cut out suitable for a small outboard. She will only be used in protected coastal waters for fishing and general mucking about.

Im not worried about her being stout enough to carry the motor; more concerned about how a long skinny boat will handle if at all. Im a builder, not a designer.....

Good or bad idea?

Default Re: Modify a dory

maybe a motor well would be easier?

I'm not a designer either. I have cut the ends off of a v-bottom rowboat, yielding a shorter pram. That worked well. In your place I would make a paper model, or at least a drawing to compare to other motor dories. I might also look through traditional plans books, Atkins for instance, to see if there are outboard boats with similar dimensions. You also might consider installing a motor well, or even a small inboard. The longer boat would have more buoyancy and stability. Lastly, you could try to sell the dory and buy an outboard boat. Whatever you decide, please keep us posted.

Quote Originally Posted by donsmarine View Post
    maybe a motor well would be easier?
    ^This.
    You will be able to retain the buoyancy that the designer intended her to have aft. OB Motor boats are fat arsed to carry the weight of the motor and crew fiddling with it right at the back. Sawing off and discarding a chunk of boat will not give you that.
    It really is quite difficult to build an ugly wooden boat.

The power of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web