Thread: Heron 2397

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Heron 2397

I am a newbie sailor, having passed RYA level 1 & 2 in April 2018, never having sailed before. I soon became the owner of a Comet single hander fibreglass dinghy and spent a few weeks doing minor repairs.

In September my sailing club listed a few abandoned dinghies for auction. I had been looking for a double hander so I can take others out with me. Consequently in October 2018 I became the owner of an abandoned Heron Dinghy. (In fact I "accidentally" bought two dinghies, but thats another story...)

On initial inspection it seemed to be in reasonable condition, although requiring a few repairs and some TLC. One big plus that all spars, foils, rigging and a set of tired but useable sails were present.

These photos are as she lay at the edge of the dinghy park. 25th September 2018

[IMG][/IMG]
    I aslo own the white SigneT sitting behind.

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

My first problem was to get it home. Not wishing to spend 800 on a new trailer for the short trip, I acquired a scrap Snipe trailer and restored it to road worthy condition.

On November 15th 2018 I brought the boat home

[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]

To be continued....
    Last edited by ChrisWeir; 03-10-2019 at 11:44 AM.

Default Re: Heron 2397

Having made it home, time to empty all the loose equipment and then photographically record the rigging and all the fitments to help when the time comes to put everything back on.

My aim with this project is largely to preserve as much of the original structure and fittings as possible. I will change all the running rigging to modern materials, and may also replace the old paxolin blocks, where present. (I will keep them though).