Thread: Repair resources for Beginner

Default Repair resources for Beginner

Hi Everyone,

I am new to the form and to the world of wooden boats. I have taken on my first project which is a complete rebuild of (to the best of my knowledge) a 1959 Chetek Regal Contessa. I was wondering if I could get some advice on the process and steps to rebuild. Where do I start? What is a good order to proceed with the repairs. Anybook or other sites that would be would be appreciated as well! Thanks so much.

Sam

Default Re: Repair resources for Beginner

Here's a big one. If you see (as I do) epoxy in your future... take the time to peruse and download the good info from that pioneer of epoxy in boatbuilding: WEST -- https://www.westsystem.com/instruction-2/
    David G
    Harbor Woodworks
    https://www.facebook.com/HarborWoodworks/

"It was a Sunday morning and Goddard gave thanks that there were still places where one could worship in temples not made by human hands." -- L. F. Herreshoff (The Compleat Cruiser)

Welcome to the WB Forum! Our kind hosts at woodenboat.com have a number of books on restoring runabouts, so I recommend picking up one or two that most closely match your project. https://www.woodenboatstore.com/cate...yword=runabout

Also using either the Forum's built-in search tool or Google Advanced Search with the Forum's URL in the "site or domain" field will be a big help for many of your questions. https://www.google.com/advanced_search
    "The enemies of reason have a certain blind look."
    Doctor Jacquin to Lieutenant D'Hubert, in Ridley Scott's first major film _The Duellists_.

Neat boat! She should be a beauty when you are done.

There are lots of good books out there. One I particularly like is The Art of Wooden Boat Repair by Allen Taube:

https://www.amazon.com/Art-Wooden-Bo.../dp/0988991004