Thread: Documentation and Lifting Lines off an existing boat?

Default Documentation and Lifting Lines off an existing boat?

Hello all,

This is just a question of academic curiosity with no real project in mind. I'm looking for resources, literature, videos, etc., on the process of documenting, measuring, and lifting the lines off of an existing boat for the sake of making lines drawings of that boat. Any recommendations of such resources or a forum thread that my cursory search failed to find would be much appreciated? I have the Mystic Seaport's Lofting Manual and a number of books on design that I intend on sifting through when I get back home next month to jog my memory. I've done a scant bit of lofting while assisting a builder and I have some drafting experience but I'm always interested in learning more. The process of measuring an existing hull shape and then creating drawings of it in an efficient manner piqued my interest recently when someone asked me about how I would do as such without modern tech like laser imaging and the like.

I hope everyone's winter projects are going well and thank you in advance,
    ~ Bryan

Default Re: Documentation and Lifting Lines off an existing boat?

There are several methods using basic equipment. The basic kit methods will vary dependent on the type of hull form, what sort of ground she is on and whether she is level ford and aft and/or athwart ship.
    There is no one single best method short of the laser survey.
    It really is quite difficult to build an ugly wooden boat.

The power of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web
    The weakness of the web: Anyone can post anything on the web.

There is a good book on the subject. It was freely downloadable off the net when I printed my copy some 6 or 7 years ago.

Boats
    A manual for their documentation

Published by
    Museum small craft association
    Editors Paul Lipke/Peter Spectre/Benjamin A.G. Fuller