Thread: New Guy With '56 Torpedo 14

Default New Guy With '56 Torpedo 14

I guess this is the right section to talk about this as I just joined. I'm new to wooden boats, even though my family had an AristoCraft Torpedo 14 when I was a kid back in the 60's. That's what had me pick this one up as it brought back lots of fond memories. Driving it for the first time made me feel like a kid again.

It's in great shape and sitting on the original Gator trailer. Had been in the same family since 1962 and is a ton of fun to play with. I've never refinished anything beyond teak on larger boats, but I'm going to make this a father/son project with my 15 year old son. I talked with the guy at AristoCraft down in Georgia who gave me some basic pointers, but given that's how the man makes his living, I'm hesitant to take up a lot of his time with dumb questions. That's where I'm hoping you folks can help educate me. The plan is to flip it and start with the bottom first as there are a few places in the paint that need attention. Not sure if I'll strip it and start from clean wood or just do some sanding and sealing before painting it. I'm sure the topsides will be more challenging to get right.

I figure I'll post some pics as things progress (and I run into more questions), but here's a shot of the old girl with a friend of mine at the helm. Any and all input will be greatly appreciated, especially from those of you who may own or have owned this particular boat.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Default Re: New Guy With '56 Torpedo 14

wizbangish
    Simpler is better, except when complicated looks really cool.

Quote Originally Posted by Paul Pless View Post
    wizbangish
    Should have expected that from a Bama fan, but I'm surprised you spelled it correctly. I sure hope you boys have a sense of humor, or this may not work out.

Let me start with a couple of questions. Again, hopefully I'm doing this in the right place. If not, maybe a mod or admin can move it for me.