Thread: Wooden boatbuilding opportunities?

Default Wooden boatbuilding opportunities?

Hi, Iwas wondering if anyone can help me? I've been a Cabinet Maker/ Bench Joiner since graduating college in 2002. I am also a graduate of the Northwest School of Wooden Boatbuilding in WA USA (class 07). Basically I'm looking for opportunities in traditional wooden boatbuilding and restoration. I have a particular interest in clinker built and traditional lake craft. Saying that I'm open to all opportunities that have a bias towards traditionally built boats. I'm located in the UK but willing to relocate anywhere worldwide.

Any opportunities would be muchly appreciated.

Matt.

Good luck. I'd say it's a case of who you know as much as what you know. Or set up your own shop until you run out of money. Seriously, good luck, I hope you get a break. There is still some boatbuilding going on in Tasmania, but a job? Hmmmm.

Sent from my CPH1851 using Tapatalk

Default Re: Wooden boatbuilding opportunities?

One option I've seen local boatbuilders use is to set up your own shop, then work with clients and help them build their boat in your shop. Not sure about the laws in the UK, but Stateside it gets you off the hook of building vehicles for resale. So in effect you're renting then space in your shop and consulting with them on the build -- even if you do the majority of the work.
    "The enemies of reason have a certain blind look."
    Doctor Jacquin to Lieutenant D'Hubert, in Ridley Scott's first major film _The Duellists_.

I've thought about opening my own shop, currently working as a self employed joiner, working out of my van. Rent on a shop in the UK is expensive from what I've researched, not to mention machinery needed and shop setup. Plus I was looking to get some more experience behind me. I have done some contract work, with few months here a year there, but was looking for something permanent, so I might settle down. Thanks for the insight though.