Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: wood stove problems

Default wood stove problems

I ve been burning wood as a house heating fuel for decades. I am not a beginner, I have other burners in various places and I have had everything from swedish log burners to AGAs and complete cooking ranges ...but.... I recently installed a cast iron free standing stove with a rear exit, so 120 mm horizontal out into a 90 degree and straight up in 120 mm stainless, out through the roof close to the peak and another metre and a simple hat to stop the rain, and it smokes like a b'stard. Cant open the door for a minute just to put another log in without the room ful of smoke. It is simply not drawing.The Man in the Shop suggested one of those globe shaped rotating vane gizmos on the top, but physics tells me, as it doesnt have a fan, it can only spin with the prevailing wind and how does that help? if it was driven by wind and if it had a small internal propeller I could see how it might draw up the chimney. but it doesn't. for the last few weeks it has been pretty much dead calm . whats going to make the rotating thingy rotate.....or if it spins because of the hot gases going up the chimney its being driven by the heat so how can it pull more?
    Any ideas
    Hurry up because either Im going to get lung cancer or end up looking like a side of bacon. it is keeping the rats out of the roof space though.
    'C'est la vie' say the old folks it goes to show you never can tell

Default Re: wood stove problems

Can you replace the 90 with two 45s? Maybe its backing up pressure on the hard turn?

Peace,
    Robert

Does it smoke if you just crack the door part way for a few seconds before opening fully?
    Many airtights will require this step,to allow the accumulated smoke to clear, especially if there is a damper or secondary combustion that requires smoke to take a longer path to the exit.
    R
    Sleep with one eye open.

Can you drop a small stone through the pipe from the roof?