Thread: UK Plywood Supplier for Small Tender

Default UK Plywood Supplier for Small Tender

Hi All,

I know there have been lots of questions in the past around this theme, but I'm looking for specific advice. I'm just starting out making a simple stitch-and-glue 8' tender (everyone has to start somewhere!) and I'm looking at plywood choices. It seems to me searching online that just about anything can achieve the BS1088 standard, and the cost (and presumably quality) of plywood online varies considerably.

The dinghy I'm intending to build will be sheaved in epoxy and partially in fibreglass mat and will be kept outside over summer to serve as the tender to a yacht. It should have a relatively easy life, and should only spend a few hours in the water every week or so. I'll also use a cover to protect it from UV.

So the question is, what type of plywood should I use? I've seen the likes of Robbins Elite plywood which is clearly designed for the job, but is expensive for my budget, and possibly an overkill for what I'm hoping to achieve. At the other end of the spectrum, there's plenty of places which supply 6mm sheets of okoume 'marine' ply for around 20, which suggests that it may be a fairly poor product. I know this question is going to be a matter of opinion, but has anyone got any direct experience who could point me in the direction of a specific supplier?

Default Re: UK Plywood Supplier for Small Tender

Hi and welcome
    I can't lead you in a good direction for you in the UK but if you have not already done so, i would recommend that you read the two threads on this page of the forum entitled ....Marine Paint vs House Paint and The Plywood Debate. Great useful and philosophical discussion contained in both threads....even though the one is titled Paint, it sort of gravitated to wood as well. And I'm sure searching the rest of the forum will be helpful also and some of the UK forumites will add their ideas for you locally.