X

• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • oferraz
    • Aug 2015

Adjusting a new trailer for a Tom Cat

Hi,

I am building this Tom Cat and I just got to the point of putting it on the trailer for the first time. I am new to trailers and never used one before. The trailer needs some adjustment and the dealer didn't really help as he used to motor boats. I have few questions but any feedback or tip will be helpful:

1. Is the roller that is under the Kill is at the correct location? It seems to bring up the bow of the boat and the boat does not look level on the trailer.

2. The boat is extended after the trailer. The dealer indicated that usually, the boat end at the trailer end but from photos, I have seen on this site, many boats are extended after the trailer. Is that OK?

3. Right now the boat kill is floating and the boat is supported by the bunks. Is that OK or should I buy another roller for the end to support the kill?
    4. Also in this image. It's hard to see but as a result of the hull shape, an only relatively small part of the hull is actually touching the bunks. Is that OK or should the Bunks need to be adjusted somehow?

and last,

5. Right now the tongue is extended about 7' in front of the boat its hard to see it in the image. This is a 12-1/2' boat. Is that OK? I know I can adjust it and push the tongue under the boat. Is there a standard for that?

Thanks,

Ofer Raz
  • Mike.Higgins.94301
    • Jan 2015

Re: Adjusting a new trailer for a Tom Cat

The longer the distance between the ball and the axle, the easier it is to back a trailer. I made my trailer as short as possible so that it would fit in my garage. The back hatch on the tow vehicle just clears the spars, which rest on a cradle over the hull. This is fine when it comes to fitting the rig in my garage. However, backing up takes a lot of concentration and sometimes more than one try.